the testing curve

my learning curve in software testing

Introduction – Share your learning curve

Welcome to the testing curve!
As a first post I’d like to explain where the name of this blog comes from, because it also tells you what I want to do with this blog.

It’s quite simple actually. A few weeks ago I watched Joris Luyendijk’s TEDxAmsterdam talk “Share your learning curve.” In this talk he explains how frustrated he is by the fact that if you want to learn something about some subject, you can find all kinds of information on the internet, but afterwards you still don’t know what to think of the subject. There is just too much information on the internet and most of it disagrees with the rest of it.
So his solution is to share your learning curve. What you don’t do, is first do all your research and then publish it. No, you do your research and as you do so, you tell the story of your research. And not only is that a cool way to talk about something, it’s also an invitation to your readers to provide feedback. To provide you with new questions you hadn’t though of yourself or with new sources of information, or … In short, it makes the research interactive.

So that’s what I would like to do with this blog: share my learning curve on testing. That also helps me get over the idea (or rather: the silly thought)  that I should only post completely new and mind-shatteringly insightful ideas on testing, because it’s a blog. And people will be like reading it (hopefully). And I don’t want to waste their time. And…

In one aspect I will be diverting from  Joris Luyendijk’s idea, though. He advises to share your learning curve on something you know nothing about and I do not know nothing about testing. But I am very interested in how your definition testing shapes your method of testing, so I’m going to stick to ‘basics’ anyhow. In that respect, testing is like any other skill: if the basics aren’t there, there’s no need to bother with the rest.

4 responses to “Introduction – Share your learning curve

  1. montanha January 2, 2012 at 7:51 am

    Interesting concept – Welcome to the blogging world. I’ll have to look into this further. It sounds good in that if you publish your journey, people that have tread on that path before can offer advice and even prevent you from straying off the path. Although one could say that sometime it is better to stray.

    Regardless, I also like the idea of looking at the basics, that’s what I plan to do. Build a solid foundation.

    My definition of testing is ‘Providing information about the product at that particular time’. How it defines my testing – I’m not so sure.

    [Joep’s reply: Thanks for the welcome! And rest assured, I’m perfectly capable of going astray even when the whole testing world is shouting “No, don’t go there!” – in classic horror movie style. :-)

    Interesting definition of testing. Two questions that popped into my head:
    – What kind of information do you want to provide? Information as such is terribly broad.
    – Why the ‘at that particular time’? Aren’t there other important dimension in the context of your testing?]

  2. Darren McMillan January 2, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Welcome to the blogging world.

    I like the sound of this concept and certainly it can only benefit you in the long run. If you look at the Association for Software Testing courses, these all follow a similar collaborative learning curve. I know it’s somewhat different from what you propose and more restricted (clear path already set), but the feedback people give on group learning on those is fantastic.

    I’m looking forward to sharing this journey with you! All the best.

    • jss January 3, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      Thanks for the welcome!

      The AST courses are somewhere on my to-do list. One of the reasons it’s just ‘somewhere’ on there, is that 12-14 hours a week for four weeks is quite an investment. But it’s good to hear it’s a good investment. :-)

  3. Alon Fridman Waisbard January 16, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Hi Joep,
    It sounds like a great idea! I’m more or less in the same situation: trying to learn more about software testing, while also blogging my thoughts. So far I’ve been writing to a little notebook, by I plan to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, I’ll be glad to share this learning experience with you. Good luck!
    Alon.

Leave a Reply

